3 Benefits of Formal Prayers

05/18/2011

Blessed Day BE~LOVED Ones! I have been talking about prayers so much lately and just realized that I haven’t gotten around to talking about the benefits of formal prayers. As much I love spontaneous heartfelt prayers and believe that our lives are our living prayers, there are several benefits to formal prayers.

1. There is a collective energy and consciousness related to formal prayers that you can tap into when you say them. Millions of people have said The Lord’s Prayer, Hail Mary and the Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi over the years. Right now, plenty of souls are saying any one of these prayers. You can tap into all of that energy when you say them, too. So even if you are sitting alone saying one of them, there’s going to be others saying them somewhere in the universe with whom you are touching in agreement.

“When two or more are gathered in my name there I AM.”

Chances are you’re probably never saying any one of the popular formal prayers alone. This benefit holds true for any popular formal prayer in any tradition. If you are saying The Great Invocation or chanting Aum Ra Ma Aum,  you are plugging in to the collective consciousness of all the souls that have prayed The Great Invocation, chanted Aum Ra Ma Aum and are doing so right now.

2.  Formal prayers are more likely to be memorized (and probably available on MP3, CD and youtube!) Many of us have already learned a few formal prayers by now. If not, they’re easy to find in multiple formats and languages. Partly due to their popularity and longevity, we’ve likely heard them so many times that we’ve got them memorized. If not, they are often easy to memorize. I actually have a few CDs that have the psalms and other popular prayers set to music.

3. Formal prayers lend well to repetition (and song.) Typically formal prayers are repeated so we learn them because we’re taught to repeat them over and over and over again, or we’ve heard them over and over and over again.  As I kid I usually didn’t have to go to church. But when my Grandma Bunnie used to take me and my Auntie Sher to the Unity Church in Manhattan where Eric Butterworth used to preach, I would be singing like a little birdie every time they sang Let There Be Peace on Earth! No getting me to shut up after that either. I’d sing it the whole way back to Queens, over and over and over again. As a matter of fact I taught a few of the kids on my block that song. LOL. I sure did!

Because I was such a little renegade in churches and at my Catholic school I didn’t learn any formal prayers until adulthood. But if you check the lyrics for Let There Be Peace on Earth, you’ll agree I’ve been “praying” every time I sang that song. Hmm… I must have learned “This Little Light of Mine” in one of my brief visits to a Sunday school. Now THAT’s my jam!

Seriously, these are just 3 of the benefits of formal prayers. There are more, but I’ve already poured out several long posts this week.  As always I invite you to ask me any questions that you may have. Simple click “Ask BLAZE” or post in the comments.

Are you inspired by this blog? Please support my efforts with a contribution to the Capital Campaign for Healing Truth Center today! Thank you!

Love,
BLAZE

SHAWNA MARIE is a Spiritual Leader, psychotherapist and author. She hosts the Living in Spiritual Perspective Show at HealingTruthCenter.com and provides consultations to empower others to their greatest potential.

Copyright 2011. All rights reserved.

4 Responses to “3 Benefits of Formal Prayers”

  1. rabbielimallon Says:

    I totally agree with all three reasons. Also, if you memorize a formal prayer through repeating it, it can become part of your own thinking. At the same time, it will develop a special, personal meaning for you even when you’re saying it with other people! So — it becomes “personal” too!

    • SHAWNA MARIE Says:

      Well said BE~LOVED Rabbi! Thank you for adding reflections about the potential of personalization in repeating formal prayers. You rock! Love ya!

  2. Papi Says:

    TEACH!!! Aaahhhhmmmm….When did the renegade become a…..was???? Remember…I C U…………..


Leave a Reply

