A Movement of Mind

05/11/2011

I have come to believe that prayer is a movement of the mind (in the one praying) from one level of understanding and expectation to another. Ideally the shift is to a higher, greater more illumined understanding (of more Light) as well as expectation than before. These movements can be formal or informal, big or small, of value or of harm, self-directed or Divinely Inspired. And as I mentioned in the Prayer Power post and show playing at HealingTruthCenter.com, I believe that our lives are our living breathing prayers, too.

My first “Clue”

After I spent almost 5 years as a child asking about my father and desiring with all of my heart to know him, my mom gave me the news (seemingly out of nowhere) that I was going to Cali to see my father. This was my first “clue.” In my teens when I was back in NY, one night  the Marshalls came and boarded up the place where I was staying. On my walk to the Conduit my single thought was, “I need a place to stay until I can get into college.” Hitting the pay phone a number came to mind which I’d learned as a kid. I dialed it almost as a way to give myself time to come up with my next move because the first person I’d called turned up empty.

Clue #2

That phone must have rang 50 times. Suddenly (seemingly out of nowhere because this person worked nights at a hospital in Manhattan) a groggy voice said, “Hello.” Startled I asked, “What are you doing home?” I could barely stop sobbing to get out the words when he’d asked me what was wrong, “I have no where to go.” His response was, “Come Shawn. Stop crying. Jump in a cab.” I stayed there until I got into college. That was our agreement, my unsuspecting prayer and clue #2.

Clue #3

Following some confusion around relationships in college I decided that I wouldn’t date, kiss or sleep with anyone. I began to consider the kind of relationship I really wanted and deserved. I thought about the ideal qualities in a mate that could be a good match and stood by a decision that nothing less would do. It took a couple of years and I wasnt’ even thinking about it anymore when I met someone who fit my expectations to a tee. That relationship was great and lasted 6 years until I realized I wanted more and my desires for the type of person who matched the woman I’d become had changed. That was clue #3.

More Stories

I could go on for days with these kinds of stories that led to my current understanding about living prayers, levels of realization, expectations fulfilled (good, bad or otherwise) and more. There was the scholarship to Paris, the day I won lotto when I didn’t have enough money to get home, and the amazing Harlem apartment for the exact amount of money I could afford when the going rate in that neighborhood was twice as much. There were the cars that each came into my life as seeming miracles. This is why I’m writing my memoir. Everytime I share my stories, revelations are possible for those who hear them.

Did you notice that “prayers” were answered in these three stories I shared today? I didn’t know any fancy formal prayers besides “Now I lay me down to sleep” until adulthood. Yet that which I most deeply desired, needed, focused on and expected came to be. As my level of realization of what was possible, what I deserved, what I needed and what I was ready to receive crystalized in my mind… realizations took form in my experience, too.

Helpful? 😉

Bless up BE~LOVED Ones! Take a moment today to consider the types of movements of mind that would benefit your experience. If you’d like support, feel free to contact me at HealingTruthCenter.com.

Are you inspired by this blog? Please support my efforts with a contribution to the Capital Campaign for Healing Truth Center today! Thank you!

Love,
BLAZE

SHAWNA MARIE is a Spiritual Leader, psychotherapist and author. She hosts the Living in Spiritual Perspective Show at HealingTruthCenter.com and provides consultations to empower others to their greatest potential.

4 Responses to “A Movement of Mind”

  1. Rev. Bobby Says:

    Helpful..yes….36 million times

  2. Molly Gilroy Says:

    Shawna,
    My life also seems to be a string of miracles. Thanks for sharing just a handful in this post.

    On a side note, I have friends over at Nurture Center in San Fransisco, CA (they carry eco-friendly baby products like reusable diapers & water birthing tubs) and was wondering if you could add a link to their website from your website here. In exchange I could add a link & review of your website on mine at Babynoises.com. Nurture Center could also make a monetary donation to you if you would prefer. Let me know if this interests you or if you are open to any other ideas from them.

    Look forward to hearing back from you either way….. Thanks for taking the time to respond to me!!

    Sincerely,
    Molly Gilroy

    • SHAWNA MARIE Says:

      Blessings BE~LOVED Molly! Thank you for visiting the blog and sharing your testimony. I’ll be sure to check out the websites that you shared. I actually do not post links on the Living In Spiritual Perspective blog as it’s a sacred space for idea exchange and dialogue around spiritual discovery and healing (though I may share inspiring books and resources from time to time.) What you’re referring to may be better placed as an advertisement at HealingTruthCenter.com. If that’s something you’d like to learn more about please use the contact form at HealingTruthCenter.com.


Leave a Reply

