A Wonderful Morning Prayer

06/23/2010

Morning Prayer
by Ella Syfers Schenck

Lord, in the quiet of this morning hour
I came to Thee for peace, for wisdom, power,
To view the world today through love-filled eyes;
Be patient, understanding, wise;
To see beyond what seems to be, and know
Thy children as Thou knowest them, and so
Naught but good in anyone behold;
Make deaf my ears to slander that is told;
Silence my tongue to aught that is unkind;
Let only thoughts that bless dwell in my mind.
Let me so kindly be, so full of cheer,
That all I meet may feel Thy presence near,
O clothe me in Thy Beauty, this I pray,
Let me reveal Thee, Lord, through all the day.

Are you inspired by this blog? Please support my efforts with a contribution to the Capital Campaign for Healing Truth Center today! Thank you!

3 Responses to “A Wonderful Morning Prayer”


  1. Amen to that! (:
    LOVELY poem!

  2. Jane Thompson Says:

    This exemplifies the Christ whom I know. wonderful!


Leave a Reply

